Review: Hedpe- Forever

Despite the various lineup and record label changes, over the past twenty plus years, (hed) p.e. has remained a constant force in the rock music scene. It’s been two years since the release of Evolution, but thankfully fans will not have to wait much longer for new music. That’s right! (hed) p.e. is releasing a new album July 22, 2016 through Pavement Records, titled Forever!

2015 brought forth a lineup change, both long tenured guitarist Jaxon, and original bassist Mark Young(Mawk) left the band. Which leaves one original member remaining, Jahred(vocalist). Along with Trauma(drummer), and new members Gregzilla(guitarist) and Kurtis(bass), (hed) p.e. is continuing to add new elements to the bands signature sound.

Forever! starts out with “Live”, a throwback to the late 90’s and early 2000’s (hed) p.e. sound. Seriously, this is a great song to start out with, it sets the tone for the rest of the album.

“Pay Me” and “Hurt” are great examples of the new elements the band is adding, with heavier guitar riffs.  “Closer”, “Jahknow”, and “One of a kind” is a mix of metal and reggae sounds. “It’s You” is a stand out rock song, Jahred does a great job with the clean and dirty vocals, overall a catchy tune.

And just like the previous album, “The Higher Crown” with meditation type chants and music, perfectly sets up the rest of Forever! “Shadowridge”, “Together”, “Always”, and “Ganja” are great reggae style tunes that reflect the versatility that (hed) p.e. has a band.

Overall, Forever! is one of the best albums that (hed) p.e. has put together in a long time. From beginning to end, Forever! is a great reflection of how a band like (hed) p.e. can adapt and remain relevant in the rock music scene for twenty plus years.

Rating: 10/10

Phil Coon