Apocalyptica announce Call of Ktulu featuring Cliff Burton

Apocalyptica are thrilled to announce the fourth and final exciting single from Apocalyptica Plays Metallica, Vol. 2 – the hotly-anticipated sequel to their legendary debut record. The Call of Ktulu will coincide with the album’s release, and follows on from a rapturous response to the preceding three singles: stunning reinterpretations of The Four HorsemenThe Unforgiven II, and One. Most notably, The Call of Ktulu features a truly remarkable guest: legendary Metallica bassist Cliff Burton himself.

Apocalyptica Plays Metallica Vol. 2 will continue the journey that began in 1996 when cellists from Helsinki’s world-renowned Sibelius Academy played symphonic tribute to the biggest of the big four – heavy metal titans Metallica. For their ninth record the classically-minded dynamos are returning to their roots to bring a legendary story full circle. It also features a host of surprises, including appearances by Metallica’s very own James Hetfield, Rob Trujillo, and – in a move that is sure to set the metal world alight – The Call of Ktulu, featuring the original bassline laid down by Cliff Burton, who tragically lost his life in a tour bus accident in 1986.

Apocalyptica’s The Call Of Ktulu, the original of which first appeared on Metallica’s second album – 1984 landmark Ride The Lightning – is more than just a reimagining of that defining moment in thrash history. It represents a resounding seal of approval given by Metallica and the family of Cliff Burton themselves, who were all enthusiastically behind the idea. It also serves as a powerful tribute to a legendary bassist whose colossal musical legacy lives on.

“I’ve learned in life that if you have crazy ideas it’s always worth asking, so I called Lars!” says Apocalyptica founder Eicca Toppinen. “He was like, ‘I love that you guys always think outside of the box!’ James (Hetfield) loved the idea, and I met one of Cliff’s close relatives and she did, too. It was a spiritual experience working on this. We wanted to treat this with honour and maximum respect, and it was magical to have people so close to Cliff say that he would have loved it.”

Apocalyptica Plays Metallica Vol. 2 was produced by longtime collaborator and studio supremo Joe Barresi (Queens of the Stone Age, Soundgarden, Nine Inch Nails, Tool) and will be released via new label Throwdown Entertainment on June 7th.


  1. Ride the Lightning
  2. St. Anger
  3. The Unforgiven II
  4. Blackened
  5. The Call of Ktulu (in memory of Cliff Burton)
  6. The Four Horsemen (ft. Rob Trujillo)
  7. Holier Than Thou
  8. To Live Is To Die
  9. One (ft.. James Hetfield)
  10. One (Instrumental)