AETHER REALM Reveals New Playthrough Video for \”King Of Cups\” from Acclaimed \”Tarot\” Album

AETHER REALM’s acclaimed 2017 release Tarot is the album that truly surged these melodic death heroes onto the metal map, and now, fans can own the album in an array of exceptional new formats upon its reissue with Napalm Records on September 11, 2020! The North Carolina-based quartet’s massive, now 12-track/70+ minute sophomore release (expanded with the addition of previous standalone single “The Magician” to the new physical edition) garnered notable underground appeal and cemented the band’s mind-blowingly multi-faceted sound as their own – spurring prominent metal blogs such as No Clean Singing and Angry Metal Guy to dub the album as an “enormous accomplishment” and “spectacular”, respectively. Today, the band has graced fans with yet another special video featuring a track cut from Tarot, this time in the form of a new guitar and bass playthrough of \”King Of Cups\”!
Watch the \”King Of Cups\” guitar + bass playthrough HERE
International fans, prepare your ears! In other exciting AETHER REALM news, the band is thrilled to announce that they have joined the Decibel Touring roster for Europe and Asia. In a statement, AETHER REALM says:
\”We’re stoked AF to announce that while we’re still not from Finland, we finally have booking representation there. AETHER REALM will be joining the Decibel Touring roster for Europe and Asia (including Russia). All booking in these regions will be handled by Volkmar Udri. Time to show y\’all how we do it down in North Carolina.\” Decibel Touring CEO/founder Mike Heinemann adds: \”I am more than happy to have those virtuosos and one of the most promising newcomer bands on the agency’s roster. Since one of Decibel\’s main aims is to work future-oriented and to build up talented artists, this collaboration will for sure be successful and we are looking forward to working together.\”
Pre-order your edition of Tarot via Napalm Records HERE
[New reissue cover art: Adrian Baxter]
Boasting the production talents of Kile Odell and loosely based on the concept of tarot cards, Tarot begins the masterpiece to come with “The Fool” – beginning modestly, then ominously cascading into a black metal-meets-southern-fried riff inspired fury. Further setting the stage for the remainder of the opus, incendiary title track “Tarot” leans heavier into what fans have now come to love from AETHER REALM – a confident, cinematic melding of spine-tingling symphonic elements, thrashy rhythms and mind-boggling guitar leads. Following folk metal anthem-turned-talent show “King of Cups” (featuring labelmate Christopher Bowes of massive pirate metal titans Alestorm), Tarot continues to blindingly shine with tracks like the metallic ballad-echoed “Death” and sinister orchestral oeuvre “The Devil” – the latter of which should catch any competition shaking in their boots. The remainder of Tarot – capped by the nearly 20-minute heroic “The Sun, The Moon, The Star” – proves that it is indeed possible to flawlessly meld southern Americana-metal riffs with European-tinged symphonic soundscapes. Tarot is the album that every band wishes they could attempt by their second go-round, yet AETHER REALM have already achieved it and gaze triumphantly ahead!
Tarot reissue tracklisting: 1. The Fool 2. Tarot 3. The Tower 4. King of Cups (feat. Chris Bowes) 5. Death 6. The Chariot 7. The Devil 8. The Emperor 9. Strength 10. Temperance 11. The Sun, the Moon, the Star 12. The Magician (Bonus Track)